Research Cooperation Lower Saxony – Israel

area of research: Natural Sciences, Engineerings Sciences and Mathematics (call 2023)
type of funding: research projects
up to 300.000 Euro
up to 3 years
research cooperations between researchers from Lower Saxony and Israel

(12 pm CET)

In Kooperation mit Kollegen der Ben-Gurion-Universität des Negev, Israel untersuchen Dr. Ina Christin Meier (links) und Julia Köhler in Göttingen die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die Nährstoffversorgung von Waldbäumen. (Foto: Daniel Pilar)
In Göttingen, Dr. Ina Christian Meier (left) and Julia Köhler investigate the effects of climate change on the nutrient supply of forest trees, in cooperation with colleagues from the Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel (Photo: Daniel Pilar)


The cooperation of Israeli and Lower Saxon universities and research institutions has a long history. The program "Research Cooperation Lower Saxony - Israel" supports this cooperation by promoting scientifically excellent collaborative projects.

Scope of Funding

Funding is provided for scientifically outstanding projects conducted jointly by researchers from Israel and Lower Saxony. To set impulses for new collaborations and to enable possibly long lasting academic exchange the program is explicitly aimed at scholars and scientists at an early career stage.

The funding program addresses different disciplines (Humanities and Social Sciences; Life Sciences and Medicine; Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering Sciences) in different years. The current call for application invites proposals from the Natural Sciences, Engineering Sciences and Mathematics.

Details of conditions and the application procedure can be found under Information for applicants "Research Cooperation Lower Saxony - Israel" and the FAQs (pdf). Applications have to be submitted electronically via the electronic application system.


This funding initiative is offered in cooperation with the Lower Saxony Ministry for Science and Culture and falls under the program "SPRUNG". Within this context, grants may only be made to universities and research institutions actually located in Lower Saxony.